aurora borealis

“But you are… normal?!!”

Posted in Uncategorized by kinano on January 9, 2009
Humanity is Diverse!

Humanity is Diverse!

Oh the many times I heard this line since I have come here! It is as if it were inconceivable for a Syrian, an Arab, or a Middle Eastern for that matter, to be “normal”. I usually reply with an amused tone before I go into explaining how, in fact, we are normal! 

Allow me, however, to let you in on a little secret. Deep down, I take offence in the other party’s shock when making such a statement. The conversation that follows, more often than not, veers into politics with me trying to explain how similar we are to the rest of the world. How, personally, I come from a secular country (the only secular Arab country in fact). How we cherish the same moments of joy, how we lead lives that are as similar to those led by people in this part of the world. How we enjoy music and concerts; drinking, dancing and clubbing; reading and watching movies; and the list goes on and on. 

People tend to forget that the things that distinguish us from one another are fewer and less significant than the things that bring us together. They tend to forget that we are all human beings, built in the same manner as the rest of the human population. They tend to forget that our differences are very much outnumbered by our similarities. They tend to forget that we all share the same time on this planet and in this life. 

Yes I am different. And, to be quite honest, I celebrate the fact that I am. But who said that being different is to be instantly equated with not being “normal”?! I cannot help but wonder. Has humanity become inexplicably divided that we now faction it to those who are “normal” and those who are, well, “abnormal”? If so, then let me take a moment to grieve and mourn the death of humanity. 

It is very easy to place the blame on the media, the politicians, or what-have-you. But the real blame should be ours! We are the ones to blame for what has become of our state of being. Instead of engaging in conversation, we wage war. Instead of building bridges that connect us, we construct monstrous walls to keep us apart. Instead of solidifying our numerous similarities, we amplify our minute differences and have them stand between us. 

We must not forget that extremism, fundamentalism and radicalism are but the exceptions to the human condition. Yet, that is all we are focused on. The first decade of the 21st century has almost ended, yet here we are; divided, we stand.

What a pity! 

Let us talk! Let us all shed off our stereotypes and irrational fear that keep us apart and sit down around one table and talk. Let us talk about the things we share, the similarities that bring us all together, about the differences that make each of us unique but human nonetheless. Let us talk about how “normal” we all are! 

Let us talk.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. doinmythingamy said, on January 9, 2009 at 3:54 am

    I agree, that is sooo ridiculous! Some people just don’t see it though. I try to be patient for these people, although it can be very difficult. I try to see it as if they were a little child, they don’t know any better. We are all one : )

  2. intlxpatr said, on January 9, 2009 at 6:53 am

    I couldn’t agree more, we are all more alike than we are different. When we start beating up on one another, it us usally out of fear and/or ignorance. The more we know one another, the less likely we are to resort to violent means of resolving our conflicts.

    LOL @ “Normal”. I don’t think I have ever met anyone, anywhere, who is normal. My Mom used to tell me not to talk to my cat in front of other people, or they would think I was strange. I guess I don’t worry too much about what other people might think!

  3. Batoul said, on January 9, 2009 at 8:05 am

    I agree, we always concentrate on the negative aspect and rationalize our gestures being of “external influences” and being of “human nature” while in reality, its all in the head and one’s capability to comprehend. I myself run through it too but when I take a step back to the larger image, am quick to realize my flaws.

    Abnormality and difference…. such misnomers but so is coexistence in this time and age. Lets make it “optimism 09” and work towards it, what do you say? 😉

    I enjoyed this…

  4. kinano said, on January 9, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    doinmythingamy: Welcome to my blog 🙂 – Yes, they are like the children but the difference is that children usually grow up and mature and become more knowledgeable. It’s more severe with us now! But like you said, we are indeed all one 🙂

    Intlxpatr: The problem is ignorance my friend! But haven’t we reached the day and age (with all of what we as a race achieved) when we can start obliterating this ignorance? Have we not the means to better the world? Or are we just simply complacent?

    Batoul: I am glad you liked the post 🙂 And yes, we must work for a better understanding. Towards a world were everyone can at least engage in civil conversation than just simply swing swords at one another!

  5. KJ said, on January 9, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Off topic: how come your related posts point out to someone else’s blog?!

    Speaking strictly in terms of human thought, we tend to be attracted to similar things for comfort and opposite things for competition (as in adventurous excitement).

    People build ideas around themselves and develop thought systems through their experiences. Therefore they see the world through this filter – their thought systems – and consider what they see as the standard normal.

    And that’s similar to you.

    However, intelligent human beings discover the concept that people are different and see things differently. Reality cannot be truly defined. You and a friend both watch a movie, and interpret it and feel to it differently. But the reality of the movie did not change – and no one knows what it is, because we all view it with filters.

    When people understand this concept of separate realities we would therefore understand that normal is merely a relative term.

  6. hamza said, on January 18, 2009 at 6:57 am

    well well well..I can’t believe that after all these years, I find you change and become an advocate for breaking stereotypes.

    As I have told you before, I have faced similar situations during my short experience in the west, but it was more on the religious perspectives rather than cultural and political ones.

    Coming back to ksa, I had the chance to meet people who many of us always consider them inferior to us. i.e. Africans. interacting with Africans such as the togos, senegalese, ghanians, and nigers was beneficial in widening my prespective in understanding the dynamics of their culture. And you are right, they are not much different than us. They are just normal human beings. 🙂


Leave a comment